At home treatments · Life

Easy Budget Friendly Relief: No Sew Hot Pack

 

20170226_120303
May not look like much, but they’ve got it where it counts.

No, my little corner of the blogsphere isn’t known for life hacks or DIY home projects, but after so many recent questions from people much like me asking why I carry around a funky coloured sock… I figured some explanations were in order.

Actually. It would be more accurate to say I was inspired by how many people I have run into (at doctors offices, physiotherapy, or even online) had no idea that you could make your own microwaveable heating pad. Even better, that you could do it without a sewing machine (or needle and thread of any kind) and probably using the change crammed in your sofa.

If cheap and easy aren’t already two good enough reasons to give it a shot I’ll give  you a third reason. Really this is the initial reason I needed to make one of these things in the first place. They contort, wrap and twist. When you need soothing relief AROUND a joint something flat, bulky and stiff just isn’t going to cut it. Not to mention they’re also portable, washable (more on that later), adjustable and child safe.

I’ve been carrying one of these bad boys around with me almost everywhere I go lately because my SI pain has been so severe. Even in the hospital, it retained heat way better/longer than any heated blanked (and nurses have better things to do than grab me one of those every 5 minutes I tell ya). It’s convenient to heat and grab before a car trip because I can wrap it around my side so sitting isn’t as uncomfortable and because it’s not electronic it’s perfectly safe to bring to bed and fall asleep with for soothing comfort (ugh years of having to get up to unplug the heating pad when dealing with teen menstrual cramps…).

All you’ll need is is 1 pair of NEW socks, preferably knee high ones (jr. or teen sizing will make for a thinner ‘snake’ shaped pack, regular flexible socks will make for a much wider surface area) and rice (dry packaged rice of any kind but a smaller grain is best for overall feel).

20170226_115711
My dollar store finds. I spent 2.25 for one hot pack.

The hardest part here is efficiently getting the rice…into one of the socks. There you have it…the secret. If you’re like me and you suffer from finger and hand pain/stiffness it can lead to a possibly messy situation. The use of a strainer and/or help from a friendly counterpart would be useful. Or you could just be like me and be stubborn about it.

20170226_115920
Rice bag cut on top, sock opened and pulled over the opening.

*Cue inspirational music about not needing a man to do my handy-work for me*

20170226_115958
Flip it over and let the rice fall to the foot. Being sure the sock is still completely covering the whole in the rice bag.

TA-DA! Now that the nerve wracking and possibly messy part is over, it’s time to just tie up loose ends…quite literally.

20170226_120115
Tie a tight knot at the end of the sock.

The closer you tie your knot to the rice the more compact your hot pack will be keeping it stiff, the higher you place it to the edge and away from the rice the more flexible it will move. The amount of rice you use and where you tie your knot can give you a lot of control over the size and uses for your hot pack. A small jr size sock tied tight might not be great for your lower back, but would work wonderful to aid hand numbness with PN or Raynaud’s. A large mens sock tied loose may not work great for portability and discretion at work but might be great for dual shoulder pain at bed time.

Now what about the other sock? I guess you could single layer it and make yourself a second hot pack, but my go-to is to create use it as a washable cover. It can be removed  and thrown in the laundry any time it gets dirty (lets face it microwaves usually don’t get cleaned as often as they should, and spills happen everywhere!).

20170226_120153
Just like putting a stocking on starting backwards from the knot. Tie at the end just the same as before.
20170226_120323
Depending on amount of rice, type of microwave and personal preference, time will vary. I nuke these babies for 2:30 and they are quite hot, only 1:45 for the children for mildly warm.

I usually make 2 or 3 at a time just in case I leave one in the car or somewhere else I can’t grab it when I need (or when Mr. Mango or one of the kids decide to use one). Every so often the rice should be replaced, if the sock is still in decent condition there’s no reason for it to go to waste, but after enough uses they usually feel pretty shabby too (I usually replace mine every 6 months or so of REGULAR use). The important thing is to keep it as clean and dry as possible (that’s why we second socked as a cover).

There you have it. I’m not sure if it would be of any use to anyone else, but I know for sure it’s one of my most used ways of relieving minor pain and attempting to ease the more major ones.

 

9 thoughts on “Easy Budget Friendly Relief: No Sew Hot Pack

  1. Whoa! That is cool!
    I just ordered a shittonne of long socks too … guess what I’ll be making 😉
    The other thing my brother does, is outs a tennis ball in a long sock for massaging your back. You lean on the sock/ball against a wall and massage at will 🙂 Long socks are the shizz I tell yah 🙂
    Thankyou for this life hack 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. 🙂 When I get my socks (all the way from China … only $1.81!), I’ll send you a pic of how they use it … its pretty cool.
        Hopefully I’ll have some socks leftover for actual wearing 😉

        Liked by 1 person

          1. LOL agreed .. . the ones I’ve ordered though are those long ass stripey socks … I used to get stockings but kept putting holes in them and then I found these ones … I’m hoping they’re more than my little stripey sock fetish desires lol

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the idea! My heating pad has a built in timer, presumably to keep me from combusting, but portability sure sounds nice. I’ve got a little sack with flaxseeds and dried lavender that I throw in the freezer. When I get a migraine, I crawl into my cave and put it over my eyes. It feels wonderful. You know, other than the migraine part.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm, that gives me a good idea, much better than my dish soap and sponge. Which works, but I’m assuming the lavender is just lovely. Really anything to improve a migraine even slightly is a huge plus!

      Like

Leave a Reply

