Life

Step Three: laxatives and getting ready for liquids…

Honestly, I think most people would be dreading having to spend a day or two stuck on a liquids only diet but honestly with how nauseated I’ve felt and how swollen my bowels have been, I’m actually excited about not having to deal with the nonsense that is solid food. Though I might change my mind as all my friends and family post photos of their Thanksgiving meals on social media over the next couple days….

I got a call on Friday making sure that I had my instructions ready, that I had picked up the laxatives as well as the bowel prep (Pico-Salax), to discuss any questions I might have and mostly to just make sure I was still planning to show up. I asked about the timeline in the hospital and found out that while I show up at 11am my time in the OR isn’t until 1. I am still not supposed to drink anything from midnight on and have found out that this is due to the fact that I’m also getting an upper endoscopy. I get a two for one… Whatever helps them figure out what the fuck is going on in there that seems to be getting worse by the day, at this point, I don’t care. Get it done, get it over with and I just hope to get some answers.

My particular colonoscopy preparation instructions call for taking 10 mg of Bisacodyl at bed time, nights 3 and 2 before the procedure. It’s not that I’m unfamiliar with laxatives, it just seems counter intuitive to do so when you’ve already got the runs and when your intestines are so swollen up that shit literally isn’t able to make it out alright no matter what the form. Still, I’m a woman so of course I read and follow my instructions and spent last night flat on my back staring into space because it was the only position not killing my right upper abdomen. Night one done.

This morning I made 6 batches of jello, 4 sugar free and 2 of the regular fellas. It’s not exactly the right time to be cutting down on calories, but the glucose spikes with nothing else in my system won’t feel pretty so its best to keep it safe, especially when gummy bears and lifesavers are also an option. As well, we stocked up on all the necessary liquids like broths, flavored water, apple juice, grape juice, white cranberry juice, gingerale and a variety of herbal and green teas. We also have a new bottle of White Dog ‘bourbon’ that smells heavenly….but I’m pretty sure that’s not the right kind of clear liquid diet…damn.

I don’t think there’s any more research or extra preparation I can do anymore that isn’t just going to cause extra anxiety. I just want to get the next couple days over with…mostly because I’ve read/heard how bad the bowel prep can be. I expect the procedure itself to be no worse than a lot of the pain and discomfort  that comes from IBS/IBD in the first place, and I’ll be sedated for it… and for any pride or dignity? Pfft, I lost all that a long time ago during pregnancy, labor or various other medical shit having to be done.

The countdown continues…

Step one: Eat all the red and purple candy…

Step Two: White Fluffy Goodness

You are on Step Three!

Step Four: down the hatch and now we wait…

Step Five: the final step, get my butt to the hospital!

6 thoughts on “Step Three: laxatives and getting ready for liquids…

  1. Prep is no fun, but after you’re all cleaned out, you’ll get a break from the normal, uh, shit for a few days. I always appreciate that. I hope it goes as well as it can, procedures included. If you have questions, you know where to find me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I’ve reread your prep tips multiple times to try and suss out every bit of info possible. I think at this point the only thing I’m worried about is going through this all and it being cancelled or rescheduled. That and the fact that I have to live without any coffee tomorrow morning….

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

