Food & Kitchen Tips · Uncategorized

The most ridiculously amazing chocolate chip oatmeal cookies (recipe)

I want to start by saying I never intended this blog to be for recipes and food tips. On the other hand, if recipes or rants about what goes on in the Mango kitchen didn’t happen once in a while, it wouldn’t really be a reflection of my life at all.

I LOVE food. The fact that I’ve been cursed with a chronic condition that effects my digestion and ability/interest in eating is absolutely horrid bad luck, but I’ve learned to deal with it, modify my ingredients and take advantage of when I’m feeling up for a good treat.

The simple fact though is with a mix between not feeling well enough to make/eat food and my metabolism tanking and not having the energy or ability to be as active (and burn on a mound of cookies on a random Wednesday) has made it so I spend a lot less time cooking and baking (and eating) than I ever have before in my adult life.

Now that I got all that out of the way, on to the cookies!

20160309_210026.jpg

Last night after a pretty awesome supper ( tomato and shredded chicken sauce over some spaghetti squash) I decided that even though my legs were killing me and I was already pushing too far that I would make a little treat for Mr. Mango and I once the kids were asleep. I had been craving chocolate chunk ice cream for weeks, but opted for something a little more digestive friendly and found THIS RECIPE for chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. I’ve used it before with decent results but wanted to play around with it some more. The results were spectacular, I don’t ever recall enjoying an oatmeal cookie so much.

The best thing? Only half the added sugar, no dairy and gluten free (when following the exact recipe I use). Cooking and baking wheat free has become second nature to me, I use wheat flour for exactly one thing, and that is bread/buns for Mr. Mango and the kids lunches. Everything else generally modified to work in ALL of our digestive systems ( I actually loathe having to make two of everything, or not be able to enjoy what I make myself, selfish maybe, but I’m being honest about it 😛 )

Ms. Mango’s Ridiculously Amazing Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (if you have a really warm kitchen/climate you may want to hold off and chill your dough, my kitchen was 65 degrees last night, I had no need)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup margarine (or  softened butter)
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar *
  • 3/4 cup splenda *
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 TBSP vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda ( reduce to 1 tsp if using regular wheat flour)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 3/4 cup flour (I use a home mixed blend of gluten free flours **)
  • 3 cups oats (rolled, quick or large flake NOT steel cut)
  • 1 1/2 cup chocolate chips ( I buy semi sweet no sugar added gluten free ones, any preference you have could work here)

Method:

  • Blend margarine, sugar and splenda together.
  • Add and mix in eggs one at a time and then vanilla.
  • Add baking soda, salt, cinnamon and flour and mix just until combined and no more powdery residue left (the more you have to mix the more likely it is you’ll need to chill the dough).
  • Fold in the oats and chocolate chips.
  • Drop medium spoon fulls onto parchment lined cookie sheets and place into preheated oven for 10-15 minutes. ***
  • Remove from oven and transfer to cooling rack or counter.
  • Consume….probably more than you should…. because they taste awesome.

Notes:

  • * – This is the blend that works for ME. I know everyone has their own stipulations on sugars/artificial sweeteners and health/taste. Following the original recipe with 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar probably works well too, or all one or the other, or all splenda, or a stevia blend etc. I try to reduce sugar when I can while keeping flavor.
  • ** – I use a blend of brown rice, white rice, tapioca and quinoa flour. Someday I might post about it and how I settled on the mix I use, but I started out doing something close to this.
  • *** – I like a little crunch around the outside of my oatmeal cookies, I bake longer than most people would. 15 minutes gave me the perfect cookie. For those that prefer a more chewier whole cookie I recommend 10-12 minutes depending on your oven.

20160309_210017

This is what my raw cookie dough looked like. Its actually a pet peeve of mine that many recipe blogs don’t show the pre-cooked concoction and I’m stuck going “is this really what it’s supposed to look like?” It was thick and a little cakey, not fall apart or crumbly.

So there you have it, and so do I. Having this up will make it a whole lot easier to transfer the recipe to MFP (my fitness pal, where I keep my food diary and all my other regularly used recipes stored)

Both Mr. Mango and I immensely enjoyed these last night while watching Lucky Number Sleven and reminiscing about our first time watching it.

The exciting thing is right now? The recipe produced quite a big batch and I know there’s more of these bad boys waiting for an afternoon treat for the tid bits and I!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The most ridiculously amazing chocolate chip oatmeal cookies (recipe)

Leave a Reply

