Life · Uncategorized

Always know if the juice is worth the squeeze

“You wanna be president? Lemme tell you the first rule of politics; Always know if the juice is worth the squeeze. You know what that means? It means you don’t steal my girl unless you’re ready to accept the consequences.” Kelly – The Girl Next Door

Ok so I’ll admit, I love this movie probably more than any respecting adult should, but I can’t help it. I think Emile Hersch is an amazing actor and Mr. Mango has had the hots for Elisha Cuthbert  since Popular Mechanics for Kids so we bonded over our cheesy love for this teen flick.

My favorite part of the movie though has nothing to do with actors, cheese or reminiscing. It’s this line right here. “Always now if the juice is worth the squeeze.”

As adults we make decisions all day, every day, both conscious and unconscious. When we’re struck with chronic illness, we end up making even more conscious ones. We carefully plan, count spoons and making difficult choices for our own health and sanity. It’s not easy and sometimes it can be overwhelming.

Keeping this thought in mind has helped me.

It simplifies things when it comes to daily decisions, some of which honestly I don’t chose the best, healthiest or most energy conserving options. Even if that’s the case, I concentrate on IF the action is WORTH the consequences. With not only one but multiple chronic conditions and illnesses it’s hard to 100% know what consequences I may have to deal with in the end, but I sure can weigh the gain with the ones I am aware of.

I knew that consuming added sugar in my cookies last night could have some dietary consequences like higher resting pulse, abdominal pain, bloating and flora issues. I also knew that if I ignored my stupid PMS urges and cravings that I would have caved in and eaten something packaged, pre-made and much worse for my system. I judged that the juice (the cookies) were worth the squeeze (the risk to my digestive system and brain).

I knew that going for a long walk (more like ice skate/shuffle) yesterday meant that it was putting my already sore and stiff lower body under more stress, probably more stress than I should have. I also knew that being cooped up in our house for days at a time with 3 kids under 10 was having its own stressful effect on my body and mind. I judged that the juice (getting some alone time out in the fresh air) was worth the squeeze (the extra energy spent and extra muscle and joint pain today).

Of course not every experience feels worth it in the end. Back on this weekend I thought that it was all worth it in the end but afterwards I wasn’t really sure. Sometimes the experiences teach me that that particular juice is rancid, sour and simply stinkin’ awful. That next time I look at that type of fruit, I should think again before giving a squeeze.

I’ve even passed on this little nugget of decision making knowledge to others (including my father about his impending divorce, yea that actually happened and ya know what, it’s the first time I had heard him laugh and feel relieved in months). So I figured I’d share it here as well.

Not the most high tech way of managing daily life decisions, but there ya go. It sometimes really helps make life a little easier to get through.

3 thoughts on “Always know if the juice is worth the squeeze

  1. I like it! It’s so easy to drift to either extreme, but both ways we suffer. Finding balance (like giving yourself a cookie to placate the gnarly pms beast) is where it’s at.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha…..so it was more like twelve….. but better than a whole tub of double chocolate fudge peanut butter ice cream right? Figuring out what works isn’t always easy, but definitely is worth the try.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha 😀 At least you got it out of your system for a while. We’re good at disappearing sweets in this house. “Hard work good, and hard work fine, but first take care of head..” And that means eating triple chip brownies.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

